EMC Productions brings home national sports award

The MTSU Electronic Media Communication Productions crew has been recognized nationally for its coverage of the MTSU-East Carolina men’s basketball game this year.

The students won the collegiate athletics outstanding live game and event production award at the 2014 Sports Video Group College Sports Summit. The national award is given to the best student-produced game in college athletics, and it was presented in front of national media representatives from ESPN, CBS, Fox Sports 1 and Turner Sports. ESPN personality Rece Davis hosted the ceremony.

EMC sports award 2014

Three members of the EMC Productions student TV crew accept the top national collegiate honor for outstanding live game and event production at the 2014 College Sports Media Awards in Atlanta. From left are senior Chris Robertson of La Vergne, Tennessee, director of EMC Productions; ESPN’s Rece Davis, who served as host for the awards event; senior Justin Beasley of Humboldt, Tennessee; and junior Joshua Cragg of Murfreesboro. (Photo courtesy of Mike Forbes)

“This award validates the professionalism of our program and its stature on a national level,” Dr. Dennis O’Neal said. “Our students are given the ultimate realistic experience in critical thinking and problem solving by producing sports programming for the Nashville television market. Our students control all aspects of the broadcast from producing and directing to setting up and taking down the equipment.”

This is the third time EMC Productions has been recognized in the college sports media awards. The team received an honorable mention in 2012 for a home basketball game and another for the MTSU-UTEP football game in 2013. EMC Productions first used its $1.7 million production truck in the fall of 2011 and uses it exclusively for coverage today.

The crew for the MTSU-East Carolina game included: Lena Cline (producer), Chris Robertson (director), Adam Peck (technical director), Robbie Weaver (associate producer), Joshua Cragg (graphics), Corinne Wolowicz (graphics), Drew Elliot (audio engineer), Jay Czys (assistant audio), Chip Walters (play-by-play), Kyle Turnham (color commentator), Justin Beasley (sideline reporter/former DNJ intern), Dennis O’Neal (executive producer), Marc Parrish (engineer), Mike Forbes (engineer), Jennifer Dutton (tape), Ashlyn Bourque (replay), Murphy Mulvihill (camera), Melody Carson (camera), Phil Layton (camera), Breanna Frye (camera), Jackson Jones (camera), Kyle Bates (camera), Justin Carroll (grip) and Lee Degraffreed (grip). For additional information, click here.

Thank you to MTSU News & Media Relations. 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Events, Faculty, News, Students

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: