College awards ceremony honors three alumni

The College of Media and Entertainment honored both students and alumni at the annual Wall of Fame and Student Awards ceremony on April 21.


Christine Eschenfelder

Journalism alumna Traci Thomas, EMC grad Christin Baker and RI alumnus F. Reid Shippen joined 80 fellow leaders on the college’s Wall of Fame, while current students were awarded for their scholastic accomplishments. Assistant Professor Christine Eschenfelder was presented with the Ed Kimbrell Teaching Excellence award for Journalism.

traci thomas

Traci Thomas

Thomas has worked under the umbrella of Thirty Tigers for over 10 years. She manages Jason Isbell, St. Paul and the Broken Bones and John Moreland. Thomas worked as a publicist before transitioning fully into management. During her 20 plus years as a publicist she worked with artists such as Drive-By Truckers, Steve Earle, Centro-matic, International Bluegrass Music Association, MerleFest, Old Crow Medicine Show, Sugar Hill Records and many more. She is a founding member of the Americana Music Association and recently was the honoree of the 10th Annual Louise Scruggs Memorial Forum at the Country Music Hall of Fame.

Cristin Baker

Christin Baker

Baker co-founded, a company that specializes in quality web series for the lesbian community. She is executive producer and distributor of the digital series “Nikki & Nora.” She was honored as “Best Director” at the 2016 London Raindance Film Festival and is currently in post-production on the sci-fi project “Riley Parra” and has two feature scripts in development.

Shippen is a multiple Grammy-award winning mixer, producer and engineer. His credits include a wide range of artists such as Ingrid Michaelson, India.Arie, Sam Hunt, Cage the Elephant, Kenny Chesney, Gloria Gaynor, Eric Church, Colony House, Steven Tyler, Kelsea Ballerini, MercyMe, One Republic and Dierks Bentley. A proud MTSU RIM graduate, he has served as co-chair of the Producers & Engineers wing of NARAS.  Shippen was unable to attend the ceremony, but Chair Beverly Keel accepted the award on his behalf.


F. Reid Shippen

The Wall of Fame honor began in 2000 as a way to honor successful college graduates and inspire current students to continue working toward their goals. Each of the college’s three departments submits an honoree for consideration each year, and the Wall of Fame ceremony then becomes a part of the college’s annual awards day for students.

The program for the celebration, which includes a complete list of all student honorees as well as full bios of the Wall of Fame inductees, is available by clicking here.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Alumni, Events, Faculty, News, Students

%d bloggers like this: