Journalism faculty make their mark at BEA conference

Dr. Greg Pitts Dr. Chris Bacon Dr. Jennifer Woodard Dr. Stephanie Dean and Dr. Christine Eschenfelder at BEA.jpg

Left to right: At the BEA Vegas conference were Drs. Greg Pitts, Chris Bacon, Jennifer Woodard, Stephanie Dean and Christine Eschenfelder.

Several members of the MTSU School of Journalism faculty attended the 63rd annual Broadcast Education Association Conference held in Las Vegas from April 7 – 10, 2018.  BEA collaborates with the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) every year to bring together media professionals all over the country.

Among the faculty highlights:

  • Greg Pitts receiving award

    Dr. Greg Pitts

    Greg Pitts, who through his role as director of Faculty and Student Programs for the National Association of Television Program Executives (NATPE) Educational Foundation, was named the 2018 Distinguished Education Service Award winner. The DESA Award recognizes an individual who has made a significant and lasting contribution to the American system of electronic media education by virtue of a singular achievement or continuing service for or in behalf of electronic media education.

  • Christine Eschenfelder award at BEA

    Dr. Christine Eschenfelder

    Christine Eschenfelder, who was competitively awarded a BEA New Faculty Research Grant.  The grant promotes scholarship through achievement by untenured broadcast and electronic media faculty.

  • Jennifer Woodard was a speaker on the panel, “Adding Diversity to Course Curricula: It’s not as hard as you think.”
  • Chris Bacon served as co-chair of the BEA Student Sports Media Festival, where he coordinated the judging of 197 student video entries. He was a speaker on the panel, “Majors or Tracks: Sports Media in the Curriculum.”

BEA brings in over 1,300 educators annually to the NAB Show to see the latest and greatest tools and technology needed to teach students.

The MTSU School of Journalism will become the School of Journalism and Strategic Media as of July 1, 2018. For more information on degrees and classes, please click here.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Events, Faculty, News

%d bloggers like this: